Cooking: Homemade Pizza

So I wanted to try it, but was out of all purpose flour.  I should’ve had bread flour in the first place, but that’s a different story.

So, going by the usual measurements that I found on about four recipes, including Giada’s, I put 4 cups of whole wheat flour to 1.5 cups of water.  Not realizing that the two flours are different.  The result was a stiff dough that didn’t seem to proof.  Or maybe I wasn’t patient enough to let it sit for longer.  Well,  I didn’t have the time either as I was having friends over.  And pizza was going to be dinner.

So, I did another round, this time with three cups of flour.  The dough looked fine and proofed well on the first round.  And it did, on the second round too.

I used my KitchenAid stand mixer to knead the dough.

Here’s what our pizzas looked like.  I, didn’t know how to roll it or whirl it like a professional, so we tried and experimented different thicknesses.

The sauce was store bought – from Trader Joe’s.  Happy with the results, but can’t wait to try with bread flour.


  

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

